What I learned from Baby Steps Millionaire – Dave Ramsey

Recently I finished reading Baby Steps Millionaire book by Dave Ramsey. The steps were so simply explained to follow and I have already made some changes in my financial situation. Move from Intensity to intentionality.

  • Save $1000 for starter emergency fund
  • Pay off all debt using the debt snowball, except the house
  • 3 to 6 months of a month’s expenses in an emergency fund
  • Invest 15% of pre-tax income to retirement investments. 401K employer match beats Roth beats Traditional. Below is some direction on how to diversify the funds.
    25% in growth and income – large-cap/large-value, blue chip, dividend income or equity income funds
    25% in growth – mid-cap, equity, growth funds
    25% in agressive growth – emerging markets
    25% in international
  • Save for children’s college fund – I have opened a 529 for my kids and started contributing every month. The money gets invested in a target fund based on when your kid will be ready to go to college.
  • Pay off the house early – I am still debating on paying off the house early. If my current interest rate is 4% and if a HYSA (high yield savings account) is giving 5%, would it be better to put the money in HYSA vs paying off the house loan? I used this tool (https://sf3.tomnx.com/landingpage/?domain=sf3.tomnx.com&slug=MortgageFreeCalculator) to do some calculations. Your results may be different from mine based on your current rate.
  • Build wealth and give
  • I also learned that kids need to be taught the following topics:
    • work
    • give
    • save
    • spend
    • steward

    I started teaching my kids to think of need vs want whenever they want to spend money to buy something. It has given them a simple tool to make a decision.

    Here is a link to the book – https://store.ramseysolutions.com/money/books/baby-steps-millionaires/

    I am still on a long journey to a Millionaire but I am glad I am making progress using the above baby steps. One or two setbacks once in a while has not stopped me from moving towards my goal. Hope you will be able to learn something from this and important thing is to take action by making changes.

    Leave a comment